Services

Foreign Direct Investment (FDI)

Foreign direct investments and transfers of security-sensitive business activities are subject to increasing regulatory review both on a national and EU level. In a more complex economy and constantly shifting geopolitical landscape, the public interest for scrutinising transactions is emphasised and the trend is towards new and more stringent screening regimes. Furthermore, various FDI regimes differ as to the relevant business sectors which may be perceived as sensitive and the triggers and the procedure for the review. This results in complex legal environment and challenges to deal certainty.

Hannes Snellman’s FDI team utilises our combined, unrivalled expertise and experience from transactions, merger control, and regulatory review procedures before enforcement authorities and sector agencies. Our experience and expertise especially in matters related to defence and dual-use sectors, critical infrastructure, and security of supply, as well as our understanding of the relevant governmental authorities’ processes and case practice, enable us to provide timely and strategic advice and counselling, which is often decisive for the successful completion of the contemplated transaction.

We team up with legal partners in other jurisdictions to ensure a streamlined multi-jurisdictional process for our clients while utilising the full synergies in sectoral knowledge and prior experience. We deliver one-stop-shop advice on FDI screening matters, including conducting feasibility studies, authority contacts, the filing process, and post-transaction compliance, while simultaneously ensuring a smooth transaction process.

Main Contacts

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa
@hannessnellman.com

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala
@hannessnellman.com

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen
@hannessnellman.com

Team

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com
Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com