People

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate

Satu advises clients on mergers and acquisitions as well as general corporate, commercial, and contract law.

Satu joined the firm as an associate trainee in 2019 and was appointed as an associate lawyer upon her graduation.


References

Parties

Trelleborg AB, BP-Tech Group Oy

Transaction

Trelleborg AB acquires BP-Tech Group Oy

Deal value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Trelleborg AB

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Karoliina Lempiäinen

Karoliina Lempiäinen

Associate
karoliina.lempiainen@hannessnellman.com
Karri Vuorio

Karri Vuorio

Associate
karri.vuorio@hannessnellman.com
Vivi Jaatinen

Vivi Jaatinen

Legal Assistant
vivi.jaatinen@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Eemi Piirainen

Eemi Piirainen

Associate
eemi.piirainen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com
Annika Sillanpää

Annika Sillanpää

Associate
annika.sillanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Somppi

Anniina Somppi

Associate
anniina.somppi@hannessnellman.com
Jasmin Metwally

Jasmin Metwally

Associate
jasmin.metwally@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Sega Europe Limited and SEGA Corporation (Buyers) Rovio Entertainment Corporation (Target)

Transaction:

Counsel to Sega Europe Limited and SEGA Corporation in the recommended public cash tender offer for all shares and options in Rovio Entertainment Corporation.

Deal value: 

Approximately EUR 706 million

Role:

Counsel to Sega Europe Limited and SEGA Corporation

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com
Sofi Lehtinen

Sofi Lehtinen

Associate
sofi.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Claes Backström

Claes Backström

Associate
claes.backstrom@hannessnellman.com
Samuel Åkerlund

Samuel Åkerlund

Associate
samuel.akerlund@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Viola Karjalainen

Viola Karjalainen

Associate
viola.karjalainen@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
 Annika  Grönholm

Annika Grönholm

Associate
annika.gronholm@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Hilma Mäkitalo-Saarinen

Hilma Mäkitalo-Saarinen

Associate
hilma.makitalo-saarinen@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Karoliina Kaartinen

Karoliina Kaartinen

Legal Assistant
karoliina.kaartinen@hannessnellman.com
Monika Parkkinen

Monika Parkkinen

Legal Assistant
monika.parkkinen@hannessnellman.com
Hanna-Mari Mudi

Hanna-Mari Mudi

Legal Assistant
hanna-mari.mudi@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Digital 9 Infrastructure plc (Buyer), Pontos Oy, Taaleri Datacenter Ky, other sellers (Sellers), Ficolo Oy (Target)

Transaction

Sale of Ficolo Oy to Digital 9 Infrastructure plc

Deal Value

EUR 135 million

Role

Counsel to Pontos Oy, Taaleri Datacenter Ky, and other sellers

 

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Senior Associate
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Senior Associate
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Chevron Global Energy Inc (Buyer), Neste Corporation (Seller), NEXBASE™ brand and associated base oils business (Target)

Transaction 

Finnish counsel to Chevron Global Energy Inc, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Chevron Corporation, in the acquisition of the NEXBASE™ brand and associated base oils business from Neste Corporation

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Finnish counsel to Chevron Global Energy Inc

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Staffbase GmbH, Valo Solutions Oy

Transaction 

Staffbase’s acquisition of Valo Solutions, the Finnish-based leading provider of intranets and workplace solutions.

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Staffbase GmbH

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Saarelainen

Sofia Saarelainen

Associate
sofia.saarelainen@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Axel Hård af Segerstad

Axel Hård af Segerstad

Associate
axel.hard@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Joakim Frände

Joakim Frände

Specialist Partner
joakim.frande@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Anora Group Plc (Altia Plc, Arcus ASA) and Galatea AB

Transaction

Required pre-closing divestment of Altia’s brands Skåne Akvavit, Hallands Fläder, and Brøndums and cognac brand Grönstedts (along with Arcus’s aquavit brand Akevitt Spesial and spirits brands S.P.R.T. and Dworek) to Galatea AB. The divestment to a suitable buyer was required by the Finnish, Norwegian, and Swedish competition authorities as a condition to their approval of the merger between Altia and Arcus to form Anora Group.

Deal value

Not public

Role

Lead counsel to Altia Plc (Anora Group Plc)

Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Senior Associate
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Piia Ahonen

Piia Ahonen

Specialist Partner
piia.ahonen@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Counsel
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Valmet, Neles

Transaction

Hannes Snellman acted as lead counsel to Valmet, a leading global developer and supplier of process technologies, automation, and services for the pulp, paper, and energy industries, in its merger with Neles, one of the leading providers of mission-critical flow control solutions and services for process industries in Finland. 

Deal Value

The combined value of the merging companies is approximately EUR 7 billion.

Role

Lead counsel to Valmet

Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Sofi Lehtinen

Sofi Lehtinen

Associate
sofi.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg

Antti Nyberg

Partner
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

PPG Industries, Inc. (Bidder), Tikkurila Oyj (Target)

Transaction

Recommended public cash tender offer for all of the shares in Tikkurila by PPG Industries, Inc.

Deal Value

EUR 1.5 billion

Role

Counsel to Tikkurila Oyj

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com

Comprehensive advice on the state aid law for the Prime Minister’s Office concerning the recapitalisation (rights offering) of the state-controlled airline Finnair Plc, including advise on the notification procedure before the European Commission. The rights offering of 500 MEUR is one of the largest rights offerings in Finland in recent years. The Commission’s decision in the case lead to amendments to the COVID-19 related State Aid Temporary Framework.

Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Partner
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Senior Associate
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association

Education and Professional Background

  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2024
  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2020
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2020
  • Thesis Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2019-2020
  • Associate Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2019
  • Associate Trainee, Borenius Attorneys Ltd, 2018-2019
  • Trainee, UPM-Kymmene Corporation, 2017-2018