People

Essi Ellman

Associate

Essi advises domestic and international clients in EU and Finnish competition law as well as compliance and regulatory matters. As part of the ESG cross-practice team, she is focused on compliance and sustainability questions, such as sustainability cooperation between competitors.

Prior to her graduation, Essi gained experience in various trainee positions at Hannes Snellman and another major Finnish law firm. During her studies, Essi spent a semester studying international and Chinese law at Fudan University in Shanghai.

Essi is currently on study leave.


References

Parties

YIT Oyj (Seller), Renta Oy (Buyer), YIT Kalusto Oy (Target)

Transaction

Sale of fleet and equipment business and related arrangements

Deal Value

EUR 37 million

Role

Counsel to YIT

 

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Saarelainen

Sofia Saarelainen

Associate
sofia.saarelainen@hannessnellman.com
Tero Pikkarainen

Tero Pikkarainen

Senior Associate
tero.pikkarainen@hannessnellman.com
Viola Karjalainen

Viola Karjalainen

Associate
viola.karjalainen@hannessnellman.com
Vivi Jaatinen

Vivi Jaatinen

Legal Assistant
vivi.jaatinen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
 Annika  Grönholm

Annika Grönholm

Associate
annika.gronholm@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Matti Lajunen

Matti Lajunen

Partner
matti.lajunen@hannessnellman.com
Lisa Tihlman

Lisa Tihlman

Associate
lisa.tihlman@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Counsel
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com
Anton Falkenberg

Anton Falkenberg

Counsel
anton.falkenberg@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Ropo

Sofia Ropo

Senior Associate
sofia.ropo@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Uponor Corporation (target), Georg Fischer Ltd (buyer)

Transaction: 

Counsel to Uponor Corporation in the recommended public cash tender offer by Georg Fischer Ltd to purchase all of the issued and outstanding shares of Uponor Corporation. 

Value:

EUR 2.1 billion

Role:

Counsel to Uponor Corporation

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com
Viola Karjalainen

Viola Karjalainen

Associate
viola.karjalainen@hannessnellman.com
Roope Sevón

Roope Sevón

Associate
roope.sevon@hannessnellman.com
Wilma Montonen

Wilma Montonen

Associate
wilma.montonen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Saarelainen

Sofia Saarelainen

Associate
sofia.saarelainen@hannessnellman.com
 Annika  Grönholm

Annika Grönholm

Associate
annika.gronholm@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Melisa Göllü

Melisa Göllü

Legal Assistant
melisa.gollu@hannessnellman.com
Janika Vallila

Janika Vallila

Executive Assistant
janika.vallila@hannessnellman.com
Monika Parkkinen

Monika Parkkinen

Legal Assistant
monika.parkkinen@hannessnellman.com
Anni Nohteri

Anni Nohteri

Legal Assistant
anni.nohteri@hannessnellman.com

Parties: 

Methode Electronics, Inc., Nordic Lights Group Corporation

Transaction:

Methode Electronics, Inc.'s recommended public cash tender offer for all shares in Nordic Lights Group Corporation

Deal Value:

EUR 132 million

Role:

Counsel to Methode Electronics, Inc.

Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Senior Associate
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Hilma Mäkitalo-Saarinen

Hilma Mäkitalo-Saarinen

Associate
hilma.makitalo-saarinen@hannessnellman.com
Simon Mittler

Simon Mittler

Associate
simon.mittler@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Rebecca Osola

Rebecca Osola

Senior Legal Assistant
rebecca.osola@hannessnellman.com
Monika Parkkinen

Monika Parkkinen

Legal Assistant
monika.parkkinen@hannessnellman.com
Karoliina Kaartinen

Karoliina Kaartinen

Legal Assistant
karoliina.kaartinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Ahlström Capital BV and Nidoco AB (buyers), Ahlstrom-Munksjö (seller), Decor Solutions business area (target)

Transaction:

The buying consortium comprising Ahlström Capital BV and Nidoco AB, in the investment in the majority share of Ahlstrom-Munksjö’s Decor Solutions business area.

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to the buying consortium (Ahlström Capital BV and Nidoco AB)

 

Mikael Lustig

Mikael Lustig

Senior Associate
mikael.lustig@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg

Antti Nyberg

Partner
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Managing Associate
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Somppi

Anniina Somppi

Associate
anniina.somppi@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Saarelainen

Sofia Saarelainen

Associate
sofia.saarelainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Anora Group Plc (Altia Plc, Arcus ASA) and Galatea AB

Transaction

Required pre-closing divestment of Altia’s brands Skåne Akvavit, Hallands Fläder, and Brøndums and cognac brand Grönstedts (along with Arcus’s aquavit brand Akevitt Spesial and spirits brands S.P.R.T. and Dworek) to Galatea AB. The divestment to a suitable buyer was required by the Finnish, Norwegian, and Swedish competition authorities as a condition to their approval of the merger between Altia and Arcus to form Anora Group.

Deal value

Not public

Role

Lead counsel to Altia Plc (Anora Group Plc)

Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Senior Associate
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Piia Ahonen

Piia Ahonen

Specialist Partner
piia.ahonen@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Counsel
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Altia Plc, Arcus ASA

Transaction

Merger of Altia Plc and Arcus ASA to form Anora Group

Deal value

Preliminary aggregated annual revenue EUR 640 million

Role

Lead counsel to Altia Plc

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Senior Associate
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Senior Associate
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Sarita Schröder

Sarita Schröder

Managing Associate
sarita.schroder@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Competition Law Association
  • Board member of FIDE Finland, 2023–

Publications

  • The New Geopolitical Dimensions of the EU Competition and Trade Policies, National Report for FIDE 2023 Congress (co-author)
  • Yritysvastuu laajenee digitaaliseen maailmaan, Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra's blog (co-author)
  • Tasa-arvo ja kilpailuoikeus, Finnish Competition Law Yearbook 2020 (co-author)

Education and Professional Background

  • Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2020–
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2020
  • Thesis Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2020
  • Associate Trainee, Krogerus Attorneys Ltd, 2019
  • Associate Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2019
  • Knowledge Management Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2018–2019
  • Fudan University, Shanghai, 2018

Read More About Essi


Blog Posts by Essi Ellman