People

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate

Jenni Heurlin advises clients on all aspects of EU and Finnish competition law and state aid regulation, with a particular focus on merger control. She also advises companies in a range of regulatory issues, including Foreign Subsidies Regulation (FSR) as well as foreign direct investment (FDI) screening. Prior to joining Hannes Snellman in 2017, Jenni worked as an associate for another law firm.

In addition to her legal degree, Jenni holds a Master of Social Sciences (Economics) degree from Åbo Akademi University. During her law studies, Jenni also spent one semester studying law at the University of Sheffield.

Jenni is also the President of the Finnish Competition Law Association.

EU and Competition

Attract praise for her high standard of work.

Legal 500, 2019


References

Parties:

Nordea Bank Abp (JV shareholder), OP Osuuskunta (JV shareholder), Siirto Brand Oy (JV)

Transaction:

Expansion of the operations of Nordea Bank and OP’s 50/50 owned joint venture company, Siirto Brand Oy

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Joint counsel to all parties

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Rebecca Osola

Rebecca Osola

Senior Legal Assistant
rebecca.osola@hannessnellman.com
Emilia Reis

Emilia Reis

Legal Assistant
emilia.reis@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
 Annika  Grönholm

Annika Grönholm

Associate
annika.gronholm@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com

Parties

If Livförsäkring AB (Buyer), Mandatum Life (Seller)

Transaction

If Livförsäkring AB's acquisition of a life insurance portfolio from Mandatum Life

Deal Value

EUR 17.5 million

Role

Counsel to If Livförsäkring AB

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Piia Ahonen

Piia Ahonen

Specialist Partner
piia.ahonen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Cargotec Corporation, Konecranes Plc

Transaction:

The announced, but subsequently abandoned, merger of Cargotec and Konecranes in 2021-2022

Deal value:

Approx. EUR 2.7 billion

Role:

Counsel to Konecranes Plc

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Managing Associate
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Senior Associate
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Esperi Care (target), Danske Bank, SEB, and Ilmarinen (majority owners), Triton (buyer)

Transaction:

Counsel to Esperi Care and its majority owners Danske Bank, SEB, and Ilmarinen in the acquisition of the majority of Esperi Care’s shares by Triton Smaller Mid Cap Fund II advised by Triton.

Deal Value:

Value not public.

Role:

Counsel to Esperi Care and its majority owners

Antti Nyberg

Antti Nyberg

Partner
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Managing Associate
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Managing Associate
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Altia Plc, Arcus ASA

Transaction

Merger of Altia Plc and Arcus ASA to form Anora Group

Deal value

Preliminary aggregated annual revenue EUR 640 million

Role

Lead counsel to Altia Plc

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Senior Associate
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Senior Associate
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Sarita Schröder

Sarita Schröder

Managing Associate
sarita.schroder@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Virala Acquisition Company Plc, Purmo Group Ltd

Transaction 

Virala Acquisition Company Plc's merger with Purmo Group Ltd.

Deal Value 

EUR 685 million

Role

Counsel to Virala Acquisition Company Plc

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Senior Associate
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Senior Associate
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Tero Pikkarainen

Tero Pikkarainen

Senior Associate
tero.pikkarainen@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Managing Associate
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg

Antti Nyberg

Partner
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Axel Hård af Segerstad

Axel Hård af Segerstad

Associate
axel.hard@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Castellum, Kielo, Blackstone Tactical Opportunities, Brunswick Real Estate.

Transaction

Hannes Snellman acted as counsel to Castellum in its acquisition of property company Kielo from Blackstone Tactical Opportunities and Brunswick Real Estate.

Deal Value

EUR 640 million

Role

Counsel to Castellum

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Senior Partner
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Specialist Partner
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Paavo Romakkaniemi

Paavo Romakkaniemi

Associate
paavo.romakkaniemi@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Susanna Purovirta

Susanna Purovirta

Senior Associate
susanna.purovirta@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Counsel
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Parties

PPG Industries, Inc. (Bidder), Tikkurila Oyj (Target)

Transaction

Recommended public cash tender offer for all of the shares in Tikkurila by PPG Industries, Inc.

Deal Value

EUR 1.5 billion

Role

Counsel to Tikkurila Oyj

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Valmet Corporation, Alfa Laval AB, Neles Corporation

Transaction

Counsel to Valmet Corporation in the EUR 1.73 bn public tender offer dated 13 July 2020 by Alfa Laval AB for all shares in Neles Corporation and the subsequent increase by Valmet of its shareholding in Neles to 29.5 %. Alfa Laval decided not to complete its offer on 3 November 2020.

Deal Value

EUR 1.73 billion

Role

Counsel to Valmet Corporation

Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Partner
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg

Antti Nyberg

Partner
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to Altia in competition law risk assessment and compliance review.

Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Sanoma Media Finland Oy (Seller), Schibsted (buyer), Oikotie Ltd (target)

Transaction

The sale of Sanoma’s online classifieds business Oikotie to Schibsted

Deal value

EUR 185 million

Role

Counsel to Sanoma Group

Core team

Riikka Rannikko, Jesper Nevalainen, Mikko Huimala, Agda Vähä-Piikkö, Jenni Heurlin, Anton Pirinen

Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Comprehensive advice on the state aid law for the Prime Minister’s Office concerning the recapitalisation (rights offering) of the state-controlled airline Finnair Plc, including advise on the notification procedure before the European Commission. The rights offering of 500 MEUR is one of the largest rights offerings in Finland in recent years. The Commission’s decision in the case lead to amendments to the COVID-19 related State Aid Temporary Framework.

Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Partner
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Senior Associate
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Sanoma Group (Buyer), Alma Media Corporation (Seller), Alma Media Kustannus Oy and Alma Manu Oy (Targets)

Transaction

Sanoma Group’s acquisition of Alma Media’s regional news media business

Deal Value

EUR 115 million (announced enterprise value)

Role

Counsel to Sanoma Group

Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Fazer Food Services, Compass Group PLC

Transaction

Fazer Group in its divestment of Fazer Food Services to Compass Group PLC

Deal Value

EUR 475 million

Role

Counsel to Fazer Group

Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Telia Company (Buyer), AinaGroup Oyj (Seller), AinaCom Oy (Target)

Transaction

Telia Company’s acquisition of AinaCom Oy from AinaGroup Oyj

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Telia Company

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Lemminkäinen Corporation and YIT Corporation

Transaction

The combination of Lemminkäinen Corporation and YIT Corporation through a statutory merger

Deal Value

EUR 771 million

Role

Counsel to Lemminkäinen

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Elina Toivakainen

Elina Toivakainen

Counsel
elina.toivakainen@hannessnellman.com
Laura Tavakka

Laura Tavakka

Talent Development Coordinator
laura.tavakka@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Managing Associate
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to Kesko Corporation in securing unconditional merger control clearance from the Finnish Competition and Consumer Authority for its acquisition of Kalatukku E. Eriksson Ltd., a Finnish fish processor and wholesaler.

Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com

Rankings

  • "Attract praise for her high standard of work." , EU and competition, Legal 500, 2019

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the International Competition Network’s (ICN) Merger Working Group, 2024–
  • President of the Finnish Competition Law Association, 2023–, previously vice president (2022–2023), member of the board (2020–2022), and secretary (2018–2020)
  • Secretary of the Finnish Competition Law Yearbook, 2018–
  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association
  • Member of FIDE Finland
  • Member of the Finnish Public Procurement Association
  • Member of the Finnish Economic Association

Publications

  • Luonnos uudeksi markkinamäärittelytiedonannoksi ja monisuuntaisten alustojen markkinamäärittely, Finnish Competition Law Yearbook 2022 (co-author)
  • Vertikaalisten sääntöjen päivittäminen nykyajan markkinatodellisuuteen, Finnish Competition Law Yearbook 2021 (co-author)
  • Tasa-arvo ja kilpailuoikeus, Finnish Competition Law Yearbook 2020 (co-author)
  • Vastuullisuus osana tehokkuuspuolustusta EU:n kilpailuoikeudessa, Defensor Legis 4/2020 (co-author)

Education and Professional Background

  • Managing Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2023–
  • Corporate Counsel, Competition (Secondee), Kesko Corporation, 2022–2023
  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2021
  • Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2017
  • Associate, DLA Piper Finland, 2017
  • Master of Social Sciences (Economics), Åbo Akademi University, 2022
  • Master of Laws, University of Turku, 2017
  • University of Sheffield, United Kingdom, 2015