People

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner

Lasse specialises in IT & technology related assignments with a particular focus on digitalisation and complex IT and service agreements. Lasse regularly advises clients on a wide variety of arrangements, including outsourcing, cloud services,  and software and intellectual property rights licensing. In addition, he is experienced in tech-related M&A transactions and has experience as a contract negotiator of complex domestic and international transactions. 

Prior to joining Hannes Snellman, Lasse worked in the commercial group of a global law firm. Before transitioning into private practice in 2016, Lasse worked as an in-house counsel in international companies. 


References

Parties

Sampo plc and Topdanmark A/S

Transaction

Sampo plc's recommended public exchange offer for the shares in Topdanmark A/S

Deal Value

DKK 33 billion

Role

Counsel to Sampo plc

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Senior Associate
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Samuel Åkerlund

Samuel Åkerlund

Associate
samuel.akerlund@hannessnellman.com
Tobias Palmgren

Tobias Palmgren

Associate
tobias.palmgren@hannessnellman.com
Sofi Lehtinen

Sofi Lehtinen

Associate
sofi.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Roope Sevón

Roope Sevón

Associate
roope.sevon@hannessnellman.com
Semmi Seljavaara

Semmi Seljavaara

Associate
semmi.seljavaara@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Annika Sillanpää

Annika Sillanpää

Associate
annika.sillanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com
Anders Bygglin

Anders Bygglin

Partner
anders.bygglin@hannessnellman.com
Aleksiina Markkula

Aleksiina Markkula

Associate
aleksiina.markkula@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Anni Ollus

Anni Ollus

Senior Legal Assistant
anni.ollus@hannessnellman.com
Melisa Göllü

Melisa Göllü

Legal Assistant
melisa.gollu@hannessnellman.com
Anni Nohteri

Anni Nohteri

Legal Assistant
anni.nohteri@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Cargotec Corporation and Kalmar Corporation

Transaction

Cargotec’s partial demerger and separation of Kalmar

Deal Value

Approx. EUR 2.0 billion (illustrative carve-out sales)

Role

Counsel to Cargotec Corporation and Kalmar Corporation

Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Partner
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Senior Associate
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Senior Associate
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Claes Backström

Claes Backström

Associate
claes.backstrom@hannessnellman.com
Charlotta Palm

Charlotta Palm

Associate
charlotta.palm@hannessnellman.com
Julius Lempiäinen

Julius Lempiäinen

Associate
julius.lempiainen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Anton Falkenberg

Anton Falkenberg

Counsel
anton.falkenberg@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Emilia Vuorenmaa

Anna-Emilia Vuorenmaa

Associate
anna-emilia.vuorenmaa@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Managing Associate
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Josefina Aalto

Josefina Aalto

Counsel
josefina.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Maria Aholainen

Maria Aholainen

Counsel
maria.aholainen@hannessellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Simon Mittler

Simon Mittler

Associate
simon.mittler@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Annika Sillanpää

Annika Sillanpää

Associate
annika.sillanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Oona Eerola

Oona Eerola

Associate
oona.eerola@hannessnellman.com
Essi Svartling

Essi Svartling

Counsel
essi.svartling@hannessnellman.com
Noora Britschgi

Noora Britschgi

Senior Associate
noora.britschgi@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Monika Parkkinen

Monika Parkkinen

Legal Assistant
monika.parkkinen@hannessnellman.com
Anni Nohteri

Anni Nohteri

Legal Assistant
anni.nohteri@hannessnellman.com

Parties

SSAB

Transaction

Counsel to SSAB in its transformation project initiated with the decision to build a fossil-free mini-mill in Luleå, Sweden. Once completed, the new mini-mill will replace the current blast furnace-based steel production system, resulting in an estimated 7% reduction of the total CO2 emissions of Sweden.

Deal Value

EUR 4.5 billion

Role

Counsel to SSAB

Katja Perätalo

Katja Perätalo

Partner
katja.peratalo@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Nuutila

Emmi Nuutila

Senior Associate
emmi.nuutila@hannessnellman.com
Linda Härkönen

Linda Härkönen

Senior Associate
linda.harkonen@hannessnellman.com
Axel Rosengren

Axel Rosengren

Associate
axel.rosengren@hannessnellman.com
Elina Uitto

Elina Uitto

Associate
elina.uitto@hannessnellman.com
Rauli Elenius

Rauli Elenius

Associate
rauli.elenius@hannessnellman.com
Victoria Reiter

Victoria Reiter

Legal Assistant
victoria.reiter@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Simon Mittler

Simon Mittler

Associate
simon.mittler@hannessnellman.com

Parties

SSAB

Transaction

Hannes Snellman advises SSAB in its pre-study phase project to build a Direct Reduced Iron (DRI) plant in Mississippi, USA. The contemplated DRI plant would be based on HYBRIT® technology, which is the first fossil-free (hydrogen based) steelmaking technology in the world with virtually no carbon footprint. Once operational, the plant will be the first commercial-scale facility of its kind.

Deal value

Value not public

Role

Lead counsel to SSAB in e.g. the negotiation of an EPCM contract for the project

Katja Perätalo

Katja Perätalo

Partner
katja.peratalo@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Nuutila

Emmi Nuutila

Senior Associate
emmi.nuutila@hannessnellman.com
Linda Härkönen

Linda Härkönen

Senior Associate
linda.harkonen@hannessnellman.com
Elina Uitto

Elina Uitto

Associate
elina.uitto@hannessnellman.com
Victoria Reiter

Victoria Reiter

Legal Assistant
victoria.reiter@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Simon Mittler

Simon Mittler

Associate
simon.mittler@hannessnellman.com

Parties

KWC Group AG (Seller), KWC Nordics Oy (Target), Alumbra Group AB (Buyer)

Transaction

The sale by Equistone’s portfolio company KWC Group AG of its Finnish subsidiary KWC Nordics Oy, a premium manufacturer, seller and distributor of medical washers, disinfectors and bed pan washers, drying cabinets, sterilizers and large-scale washers for clinics and hospitals, to Alumbra Group AB.

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to KWC Group AG

Erik Stenman

Erik Stenman

Partner
erik.stenman@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Oriola Corporation, HCLTech, SAP

Transaction:

Oriola’s investment in an ERP (enterprise resource planning) and warehouse management system.

Deal Value:

EUR 35 million

Role:

Counsel to Oriola

Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Nordea Bank Abp (JV shareholder), OP Osuuskunta (JV shareholder), Siirto Brand Oy (JV)

Transaction:

Expansion of the operations of Nordea Bank and OP’s 50/50 owned joint venture company, Siirto Brand Oy

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Joint counsel to all parties

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Rebecca Osola

Rebecca Osola

Senior Legal Assistant
rebecca.osola@hannessnellman.com
Emilia Reis

Emilia Reis

Legal Assistant
emilia.reis@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Managing Associate
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
 Annika  Grönholm

Annika Grönholm

Associate
annika.gronholm@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Recover Group (Seller), Mutares Holding-69 GmbH (Buyer), Recover Nordic Oy (Target)

Transaction:

Divestment of Recover Nordic Oy

Deal value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Recover Group

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Susanna Purovirta

Susanna Purovirta

Senior Associate
susanna.purovirta@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Emilia Reis

Emilia Reis

Legal Assistant
emilia.reis@hannessnellman.com
Rebecca Osola

Rebecca Osola

Senior Legal Assistant
rebecca.osola@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Finnlines Plc

Transaction: 

Counsel to Finnlines Plc in its ERP programme where Finnlines will transfer its finance operations to cloud-based Oracle Fusion ERP. 

Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Finnlines Plc

 

Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Simon Mittler

Simon Mittler

Associate
simon.mittler@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Infranode, MPY Telecom Oyj

Transaction:

Infranode’s acquisition of MPY Telecom Oyj

Role:

Counsel to Infranode

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Senior Associate
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Santeri Jääskeläinen

Santeri Jääskeläinen

Associate
santeri.jaaskelainen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Hämäläinen

Anniina Hämäläinen

Legal Assistant
anniina.hamalainen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Managing Associate
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Alisa Ainonen

Alisa Ainonen

Associate
alisa.ainonen@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Sitowise (buyer), Bitcomp Oy (target)

Transaction:

Counsel to Sitowise in its acquisition of Bitcomp Oy

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Sitowise

Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Lustig

Mikael Lustig

Senior Associate
mikael.lustig@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Senior Associate
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Somppi

Anniina Somppi

Associate
anniina.somppi@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Gasgrid Finland Oy, Excelerate Energy

Transaction:

Gasgrid Finland Oy's chartering of an LNG Floating Storage and Regasification Unit from Excelerate Energy.

Deal Value:

EUR 460 million

Role:

Counsel to Gasgrid Finland Oy

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Senior Associate
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Santeri Jääskeläinen

Santeri Jääskeläinen

Associate
santeri.jaaskelainen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Outi Jousi

Outi Jousi

Counsel
outi.jousi@hannessnellman.com
Annika Tiitola

Annika Tiitola

Associate
annika.tiitola@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Partner
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Hämäläinen

Anniina Hämäläinen

Legal Assistant
anniina.hamalainen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Senior Associate
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com

(*=references from prior to joining Hannes Snellman)

(*=references from prior to joining Hannes Snellman)

(*=references from prior to joining Hannes Snellman)

(*=references from prior to joining Hannes Snellman)


Rankings

  • Ranked as one of the Recommended Lawyers in the Who's Who Legal – Data / Information Technology (Finland) 2024 edition
  • Next Generation Partner, TMT, Legal 500, 2024

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association 
  • Member of the Finnish IT Law Association 
  • Member of the Finnish Industrial Lawyers Association 

Education and Professional Background

  • Specialist Partner, Hannes Snellman, 2022–
  • Counsel, Bird & Bird Attorneys Ltd, 2019–2022
  • Senior Associate, Bird & Bird Attorneys Ltd, 2016–2019
  • Sr Manager, Legal Counsel, SAS Institute Oy, 2012–2016
  • Legal Counsel, Patria Oyj, 2009–2012
  • Associate, HH Partners, Attorneys at Law Ltd, 2006–2009
  • Associate, Roschier Attorneys Ltd, 2004–2006
  • Trained on the Bench, 2005–2006
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2004
  • Sc. (Econ.), University of Vaasa, 2002