People

Aki Salmela

Associate

Aki advises clients on mergers and acquisitions, as well as on capital markets, corporate, commercial, and contract law. He joined the firm as an associate trainee in 2018, and he was appointed as an associate lawyer in 2020.

During his studies, Aki spent a semester studying law and US foreign politics in Washington, D.C.


References

Parties:

Uponor Corporation (target), Georg Fischer Ltd (buyer)

Transaction: 

Counsel to Uponor Corporation in the recommended public cash tender offer by Georg Fischer Ltd to purchase all of the issued and outstanding shares of Uponor Corporation. 

Value:

EUR 2.1 billion

Role:

Counsel to Uponor Corporation

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com
Viola Karjalainen

Viola Karjalainen

Associate
viola.karjalainen@hannessnellman.com
Roope Sevón

Roope Sevón

Associate
roope.sevon@hannessnellman.com
Wilma Montonen

Wilma Montonen

Associate
wilma.montonen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Saarelainen

Sofia Saarelainen

Associate
sofia.saarelainen@hannessnellman.com
 Annika  Grönholm

Annika Grönholm

Associate
annika.gronholm@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Melisa Göllü

Melisa Göllü

Legal Assistant
melisa.gollu@hannessnellman.com
Janika Vallila

Janika Vallila

Executive Assistant
janika.vallila@hannessnellman.com
Monika Parkkinen

Monika Parkkinen

Legal Assistant
monika.parkkinen@hannessnellman.com
Anni Nohteri

Anni Nohteri

Legal Assistant
anni.nohteri@hannessnellman.com

Parties

A consortium consisting of Security Trading, Fennogens Investments, Corbis, and Bain Capital (buyer), Caverion Oyj (Target)

Transaction 

Counsel to the offeror consortium consisting of Security Trading, Fennogens Investments, Corbis, and Bain Capital in the recommended public cash tender offer for all shares in Caverion Oyj.

Deal value 

EUR 955 million

Role 

Counsel to the offeror consortium consisting of Security Trading, Fennogens Investments, Corbis, and Bain Capital

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Ilmari Mäkimattila

Ilmari Mäkimattila

Associate
ilmari.makimattila@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Managing Associate
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Helena Lamminen

Helena Lamminen

Senior Associate
helena.lamminen@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Sitowise (buyer), Bitcomp Oy (target)

Transaction:

Counsel to Sitowise in its acquisition of Bitcomp Oy

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Sitowise

Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Lustig

Mikael Lustig

Senior Associate
mikael.lustig@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Senior Associate
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Somppi

Anniina Somppi

Associate
anniina.somppi@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Basware Corporation (target), a consortium consisting of Accel-KKR, Long Path Partners, and Briarwood Chase Management (buyer)

Transaction

Counsel to the offeror consortium of Accel-KKR, Long Path Partners, and Briarwood Chase Management in the tender offer for all outstanding securities in Basware Corporation.

Deal Value

EUR 620 million

Role

Counsel to the consortium

Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Senior Associate
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Senior Associate
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Senior Associate
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Roope Sevón

Roope Sevón

Associate
roope.sevon@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Ropo

Sofia Ropo

Senior Associate
sofia.ropo@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Senior Associate
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Outi Jousi

Outi Jousi

Counsel
outi.jousi@hannessnellman.com
Annika Tiitola

Annika Tiitola

Associate
annika.tiitola@hannessnellman.com
Axel Hård af Segerstad

Axel Hård af Segerstad

Associate
axel.hard@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Citycon Oyj

Transaction

Citycon Oyj’s repurchase of a total amount of 9,500,000 own shares for a total purchase price of EUR 65.8 million as a result of a market based reverse accelerated bookbuild process

Deal Value

EUR 65.8 million

Role

Counsel to Citycon Oyj

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Partner
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Valmet, Neles

Transaction

Hannes Snellman acted as lead counsel to Valmet, a leading global developer and supplier of process technologies, automation, and services for the pulp, paper, and energy industries, in its merger with Neles, one of the leading providers of mission-critical flow control solutions and services for process industries in Finland. 

Deal Value

The combined value of the merging companies is approximately EUR 7 billion.

Role

Lead counsel to Valmet

Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Jon Termonen

Jon Termonen

Managing Associate
jon.termonen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Sofi Lehtinen

Sofi Lehtinen

Associate
sofi.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Senior Associate
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg

Antti Nyberg

Partner
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Virala Acquisition Company Plc

Transaction

Hannes Snellman acted as legal counsel to Virala Acquisition Company Plc on its IPO and the listing of its Class C shares on the SPAC segment of the regulated market of Nasdaq Helsinki

Deal Value

EUR 107.5 million

Role

Counsel to Virala Acquisition Company Plc

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Partner
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Sofi Lehtinen

Sofi Lehtinen

Associate
sofi.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Senior Associate
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Senior Associate
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Aki Salmela

Aki Salmela

Associate
aki.salmela@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Managing Associate
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Piia Ahonen

Piia Ahonen

Specialist Partner
piia.ahonen@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Counsel
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg

Antti Nyberg

Partner
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com

Education and Professional Background

  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2020 -
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2020
  • Columbus School of Law, Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C., 2019
  • Thesis Trainee, Roschier Attorneys Ltd., 2019
  • Associate Trainee, Roschier Attorneys Ltd., 2019
  • Associate Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2018
  • Trainee, Finnish Patent and Registration Office, 2018